Wednesday, May 27, 2015

BLOG TOUR - What the Lightning Sees Trilogy by Louise Bay

Adult Contemporary Novella Series
Part One Release: March 31, 2015

Jake Harrison is everything that Haven Daniels hates about men: over-confident, born into money and too handsome for his own good. Haven finds it difficult to keep her opinions to herself and can’t help but tell Jake exactly what she thinks of him, again and again.

Haven Daniels is uptight, smart and a bit of a bitch – the perfect challenge for Jake. It doesn’t hurt that she’s movie star beautiful and has no idea.

Forced to work together, verbal sparring turns into sexual chemistry but men like Jake are trouble and Haven has had enough trouble to last her a lifetime.

Will Haven give into Jake’s charms? Can Jake peel off Haven’s prickly mask, revealing the woman he knows lies beneath?

Part Two: April 27, 2015

Haven had thought her first impressions of Jake had been wrong, but apparently she should have trusted her instincts. He wasn’t the man she thought he was. The chink that Jake managed to put in her armor has healed over. She’s shut down and as far as she’s concerned, it’s all business between them from now on.

Thrown together on another assignment, anger, frustration and jealousy are at the forefront of Jake’s emotions. Will Jake convince Haven that he really cares or will he let her go as she insists he must?

Part Three: May 25, 2015

Jake and Haven have finally found a way to be together. Haven realized that she is ready to trust Jake and wants to open up to him. For Jake, Haven isn’t an option, she’s not just another girl, she’s his future. He’s certain of that, or he was.

Jake has been delivered life-changing news that he is yet to share with Haven. Will he confide in Haven and if he does, is their bond strong enough to withstand the bombshell?

What the Lightning Sees Part Three is the final part in the series. 

USA Today Bestselling Author Louise Bay writes sexy, contemporary romance novels – the kind she likes to read. Her books Faithful and Hopeful are stand-alone novels although there are some overlapping characters. Bestselling The Empire State Series of novellas starts with A Week in New York. My next series is What the Lightning Sees.
Ruined by romantic mini-series of the eighties, Louise loves all things romantic. There's not enough of it in real life so she disappears into the fictional worlds in books and films.
Louise loves the rain, the West Wing, London, days when she doesn’t have to wear make-up, being on her own, being with friends, elephants and champagne.
She loves to hear from readers so get in touch!

This was the second trilogy I've read by Ms. Bay, and I have to say that while I liked and enjoyed both trilogies, I actually liked this one more, maybe because it seemed to have more angst and turmoil. Nothing outrageous, but just enough drama to shake things up. But the flipside to that is a few questions I had over the course of the books that weren't really addressed.

The plot itself is pretty straightforward, possibly a bit predictable, but entertaining nonetheless. Haven comes across as someone who is judgmental and quick to make inaccurate assumptions. It's clear that she doesn't have that many people in her life who will have her back regardless of the situation, and it seems that she sometimes doesn't understand the finer nuances of cultivating friends, but it's not really explained why she is the way she is; and by that I mean, did something traumatic happen in her childhood (other than the deaths of her parents. I get that, but not the way she comes across as brusque and abrupt at times).

Jake is the typical, but not typical hero of the story. He's only working temporarily at the magazine to help out a friend, but his business lies out of journalism. He's a playboy, but not in a that is all about using women for just one purpose. Of course he's intrigued by Haven, simply because she seems to be clueless about how she looks and sometimes she has no filter for her thoughts.

I could understand how devastated Haven felt when she overheard Robert talking about the reason Haven got the assignment to cover the celebrity interview and how Jake didn't say anything to refute Robert's claims. I would have liked to have gotten a bit more information about Jake's sister and what really went down, and I wondered how come there wasn't any more fallout from the situation in Paris.

However, I will say I knew exactly what Jake's ex was calling about at the end of book two, and I had a feeling how it would all play out, and I was right on point. But it was still a good trilogy to read, but I'm really looking forward to reading about Ashley's story next.

Trilogy provided in exchange for honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment